The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Alberta
  Jan 23, 2018
University of Alberta Calendar 2016-2017 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The Professors

Return to: Faculté Saint-Jean (English)  


History of the Faculté

Juniorat Saint-Jean was founded in 1908, the same year as the inauguration of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences of the University of Alberta.

Though of the same age, the two institutions have evolved in very differing fashions. On November 27, 1970, the Collège became Collège Universitaire Saint-Jean, an integral part and a bilingual sector of the University of Alberta. Official Faculty status was granted in September 1977, and the name changed to Faculté Saint-Jean in May 1978.

Today, Faculté Saint-Jean is characterized by its Frenchlanguage university status. It serves students capable of pursuing university studies in French. The Faculté has taken on the mission of serving the particular needs of Francophones in western Canada.

It is the duty of every university to enrich, as much as possible, not only the intellectual but also the cultural life of its students. Therefore Faculté Saint-Jean finds itself with the special mission of contributing to the cultural enrichment of its students as well as of the whole of French life in Alberta. Through this commitment (which has taken concrete form in the development of Saint-Jean) the University hopes to foster French culture in western Canada.