The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Alberta
  Dec 14, 2017
University of Alberta Calendar 2016-2017 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The Professors

Return to: Faculty of Extension  


Teaching and Scholarships

Honorary Doctor of Letters, Thompson Rivers University

C Blackstock, PhD (2015)

University of Alberta Community Scholar Award

C Blackstock, PhD (2014)

Honorary Witness, Truth and Reconciliation Commission

C Blackstock, PhD (2014)

Human Rights Activist, Nobel Women's Initiative

C Blackstock, PhD (2013)

Honorary Doctorate of Laws, University of Northern British Columbia

C Blackstock, PhD (2012)

Alumni Leadership & Service Award, UBC School of Library

A Curry, PhD (2011)

National Aboriginal Achievement Award (Public Policy)

C Blackstock, PhD (2011)

Ashoka Fellow Award
National Aboriginal Achievement Award for Public Policy

C Blackstock, PhD (2010)

Canadian Association of Social Worker's Award for National Outstanding Service

C Blackstock, PhD (2010)

University of Alberta Alumni Association, Alumni Horizon Award

F Fletcher, PhD (2009)

Government of Canada, Deputy Minister's Award for Excellence, Innovation and Creativity

F Fletcher, PhD (2009)

Academic Staff Award (for Graduate Student Supervision), Graduate Student Association, University of Alberta

R Shields, PhD (2009)

Adel Sedra Prize, University of Toronto

C Blackstock, PhD (2008)

Fellow Award, Society for Technical Communication (STC)

T Barker, PhD (2008)

McCalla Research Professorship

M Adria, PhD (2007)

G, Gow, PhD (2016)

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

R Shields, PhD (2004)

Members of the Faculty

Officers of the Faculty


K Campbell, PhD

Associate Deans

F Fletcher, PhD (Academic)
Y Iwasaki, PhD (Research)

Assistant Deans

C Schultz, MA, MBA (Academic)
M Splinter, MBA (Finance and Operations)


T Barker, PhD
K Campbell, PhD
L Gander, QC, LLM
Y Iwasaki, PhD
R Shields, PhD

Associate Professors

M Beckie, PhD
C Blackstock, PhD
F Fletcher, PhD
R Gokiert, PhD
G Gow, PhD
M Guardado, PhD
M Mayan, PhD
K Van Assche, Ph,D
K Whitfield, PhD

Assistant Professors

J Foote, PhD
R McMahon, PhD
L Schnirer, PhD

Faculty Service Officer

S Varnhagen, PhD

Administrative Professional Officers

B Arkison, MBA
C Cymbaluk
D Johnson, BA
C Schultz, MBA, MA
M Splinter, MBA
Q Zheng, MSc

Adjunct Professors

G Bosgoed, BA
S A Chapman, PhD
A Curry, PhD
M Greuzmacher, PhD
S Lynch, PhD
H Madill, PhD
P Makokis, PhD
L Moussu, PhD
D Pozega Osburn, PhD
J Sousa, PhD
J Springett, PhD
R Tsushima, PhD
M Wolfe, PhD

Professors Emeriti

M Adria, PhD
D Barry, AOCA
A Einsiedel, PhD
R Faryon, MBA
D Foth, PhD
G W Lamble, PhD
E Lesage, PhD
C Lockwood, MBA
H Savage, Dip in Art
A Schmidt, Fine Art Dip
W Stewart, PhD
D Weideman, PhD

Full-Time Temporary Academic Staff

G Baker, MA
B Braul, MEd
Y Breckenridge, PhD
F Cavanagh, MA
T Comfort, MEd
J Daniels, PhD
S Elgueta Duplancic, MA, BEd
DP Janes, PhD, MBA
L Jang, MEd
K Jones, PhD
J Haak, MA
B Lambrecht, MA

W LeeYing, MA
J Light, MEd
D Lo, MEd
N Lopez Villegas, MA
S Lynch, PhD
W MacDonald, BA, BEd, BSW
P Magaldi Netto, MA
D Mason, PhD
L Matthew, MEd
G Sowak, MEd
M Zimmer, MA

Part-Time Temporary Academic Staff

G Smith, PhD, Resident Researcher

Additional Members of Faculty Council


DH Turpin

Registrar of the University

LM Collins

Chief Librarian

G Beasley

Executive Director, AICT

T Woods

General Faculties Council Members

V Bulitko (Faculty of Science)
Stephane Evoy (Engineering)

Senate Members

J Buski
M Wessel

Other Member

E Davies (Engineering)
J da Costa (Education)

Student Member

S Rollans / L Slywka (Communications and Technology Graduate Program)